Book Series

#1

Education. A postcolonial manifesto

What is education? Most publications that claim to be able to answer this question usually cite a number of white European men who have taught at universities or still do so. The bildungsLab* intervenes in this taken-for-grantedness and presents - as a prelude to a multi-part series under the title resistance & desire - a manifesto that wants to encourage linking education and experience.

The bildungsLab* reflects on education from a wide variety of perspectives: sometimes personal, sometimes theoretical, sometimes poetic, sometimes funny, sometimes serious - but always precise and clever. They call for a rethinking of Eurocentric-humanistic notions of education and a reflection on a postcolonial education in a plural society.

ISBN 978-3-89771-091-7
Publication date October 2021
Pages 108, pocket size
Cover design Tasnim Baghdadi


Review by an.schläge (in German)

#2

Decolonial Interventions

The "knowledge of the world" in Western Europe is not innocent, objective or decontextualized, but emerged in historically grown relations of power and domination. Only in the continuity of colonial, academic practices have subjects been produced and (re)produced as deficient >others< (othering). But who determines what is or may be considered >knowledge< and/or >education<?

The authors* set out in search of decolonial knowledge productions and move the perspectives of marginalized subjects from the margins to the center. Reflective, (self)critical, unruly, ironic, indignant, their texts want to reveal the violence of knowledge (epistemic violence) and western-eurocentric representational power to a certain extent and thus deconstruct it. In doing so, the authors* also consider places and structures of power and domination against the background of their own positionality and entanglement. Their preoccupation with the (re)production of hegemonic notions and ideas leads them in the end to the question of an ethics that relates to this.

ISBN 978-3-89771-181-5
Publication date October 2022
Pages 100, pocket size
Cover design Tasnim Baghdadi

Buchreihe

#1

Bildung. Ein postkoloniales Manifest

Was ist Bildung? Die meisten Publikationen, die vorgeben, diese Frage beantworten zu können, führen in der Regel eine Reihe weißer europäischer Männer an, die an Universitäten gelehrt haben oder das immer noch tun. Das bildungsLab* interveniert in diese Selbstverständlichkeit und legt - als Auftakt einer mehrteiligen Reihe unter dem Titel resistance & desire - ein Manifest vor, das dazu anregen möchte, Bildung und Erfahrung zu verknüpfen.

Das bildungsLab* reflektiert über Bildung aus unterschiedlichsten Blickwinkeln: mal persönlich, mal theoretisch, mal poetisch, mal witzig, mal ernst - immer aber präzise und klug. Sie fordern das Überdenken der eurozentrisch-humanistischen Bildungsvorstellungen und ein Nachdenken über eine postkoloniale Bildung in einer pluralen Gesellschaft.

ISBN 978-3-89771-091-7 
Erscheinungsdatum Oktober 2021
Seiten 108, Hosentaschenformat
Cover-Design Tasnim Baghdadi


Rezension bei an.schläge

#2

Dekoloniale Interventionen

Das »Wissen um die Welt« in Westeuropa ist nicht unschuldig, objektiv oder dekontextualisiert, sondern in historisch gewachsenen Macht- und Herrschaftsverhältnissen entstanden. Erst in der Kontinuität kolonialer, akademischer Praxen sind Subjekte als defizitäre >Andere< hervorgebracht und (re)produziert worden (Othering). Doch wer bestimmt, was als >Wissen< und/oder >Bildung< gilt bzw. gelten darf?

Die Autorinnen* machen sich auf die Suche nach dekolonialen Wissensproduktionen und rücken die Perspektiven marginalisierter Subjekte vom Rand ins Zentrum. Reflektierend, (selbst)kritisch, widerspenstig, ironisch, empört wollen ihre Texte die Gewaltförmigkeit von Wissen (epistemische Gewalt) und westlich-eurozentristische Repräsentationsmacht ein Stück weit offenlegen und dadurch dekonstruieren. Dabei betrachten die Autorinnen* Orte und Strukturen von Macht und Herrschaft auch vor dem Hintergrund der eigenen Positionalität und Verstrickung. Ihre Beschäftigung mit der (Re-)Produktion hegemonialer Vorstellungen und Ideen führt sie am Ende zu der Frage nach einer sich darauf beziehenden Ethik.

ISBN 978-3-89771-181-5
Erscheinungsdatum Oktober 2022
Seiten 100, Hosentaschenformat
Cover-Design Tasnim Baghdadi